Pictures, Painting and Pondering

By Jeff Waring, Lower School Art Teacher

Through the generosity of the Farnley Tyas Foundation, I was awarded a grant to travel and explore Costa Rica during last year’s spring break. A rainforest immersion was the idea, with stops at the Children’s Eternal Rainforest, Monteverde Friends School, Tenorio National Park, and the Pacific coast. This trip was for renewal and inspiration. It supported me as an artist, enriched my first grade rainforest art curriculum, immersed me in the Spanish language, exposed me to Central American culture, and connected me with other teachers and artists living in the rainforest. I did not bring along my computer, so couldn’t blog directly while there. Come to think of it, even if I had a computer I wouldn’t have taken time away from the direct experience of the trip anyway. I did keep a journal, took over 1000 pictures, and painted. Over the summer I edited the experience into a short blog.   Please take a look! http://waring-in-costa-rica.tumblr.com/

About Westtown School

Westtown School is a Pre-K through 12th grade Quaker, coed, college preparatory day and boarding school in West Chester, PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

