Buongiorno, Italia

By Vicki Shelter, Lower School Teacher

In September of 2012, I received a postcard from a previous student of mine. He was in ninth grade by then, but he had recently visited Italy with his family.  He took the time to write to me about how much he remembered being in third grade and studying the Renaissance. Seeing the architecture, paintings, sculptures and culture took him back to his studies in third grade and he marveled at what he saw in person. As teachers, we hope we reach our students in a variety of different ways. To receive feedback from a student is a blessing.

Thus, one night, I sat down and wrote what I now call,  “T. Vicki Shelter’s mission statement”. My mission statement was a sabbatical proposal that came from the heart and it proposed that I travel to Italy and become reacquainted with a time period that has always meant a lot to me for many reasons. I also wanted to travel to see where my family had lived for a few years.

So, suddenly, I am here! I am in wonder of everything and I look forward to sharing my travels, thoughts, photos and questions with you through this blog.  I would like to answer (if I can) any questions, comments or thoughts that you may have.

In the picture, I am on top of the Duomo in Florence. I will write more about that later.

Ciao!

T Vicky

 

About Westtown School

Westtown School is a Pre-K through 12th grade Quaker, coed, college preparatory day and boarding school in West Chester, PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Buongiorno, Italia

  1. Vicki,
    Is it bigger or smaller than your memories from when you were younger? More beautiful or less? The place where I spent so many of my childhood summers holds a special place for me. However, I hadn’t been for nearly a decade and then went back and everything seemed smaller. My grandmother wasn’t there which was a huge disappointment. The changes were too many!

    However,I didn’t have this experience when I went to St. John’s in the Virgin Islands. It was 18 years between visits and though things had changed, it was wonderful rather than unsettling.

    • Victoria Shelter says:

      Margaret, Everything seems bigger than life to me, but I thing it is because of the immense beauty of the art and architecture. Every turn I take I find a small detail and I am impressed by the thoughtfulness of the artists and the people. I am loving every minute.

  2. Kristin Trueblood says:

    Vicki — can’t believe the backdrop!! Kristin

    • Janet Rogers says:

      Love your blog, Vicki! How exciting to be there!
      Janet

      • Victoria Shelter says:

        Thanks Janet! I am in awe at how beautiful everything is here. I am learning tons and I am so thankful to be here.

    • Victoria Shelter says:

      I climbed to the top of the Duomo which was worth every step. The view of Florence was amazing. I am so happy to be here!

  3. Lauren James says:

    Rebekah wants you to know she’s stood in that spot behind your shoulder!! Hope you’re having a wonderful time!! She also recommends the Strattiacella gelato 🙂

  4. Eric Mayer says:

    Ah, bella Firenze. It’s a delight to read your words and see your picture. I will share them with Peter, who will undoubtedly be thrilled to see that you made it to Italy. I hope all those language lessons are paying off. For my part, I am busy failing at immigrating to Italy, so perhaps I’ll just have to sabbatical there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

