When in Ghana…

By Marion Dear, Lower School Teacher

…carry things on your head! This is a well-traveled reading assessment box. It went from its home at Heinemann Publishing in New Hampshire to West Chester, PA, and then on to Morrocco, only to end up in Breman Essiam, in the Central region of Ghana, West Africa. Today Kwesi, Alaska, and I delivered school materials to the campus. We drove, but in a ceremonial gesture, I needed to walk the reading workshop assessment box onto campus, and I needed to do it in Ghanaian fashion. Of course, when I carry things on my head, I am an amateur. I need to hold on, or my item will quickly drop and crash to the ground. People here can walk and even jog with things balanced on their heads, and they use no hands. It’s amazing to see. Three high school boys appeared on campus to help with summer school set up. Their names were Emmanuel, Emmanuel, and Emmanuel. They moved furniture all over the place, and helped me set up my reading workshop materials in the library, and a reading assessment table on the veranda. Now I am itching to meet my class and get started!MarionGhanaPS

About Westtown School

Westtown School is a Pre-K through 12th grade Quaker, coed, college preparatory day and boarding school in West Chester, PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

